Skip to main content

The African Union made history with Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma

The African Union (AU) is a pan-African organization whose goal is to build an united and a strong Africa. In 2012, this half a century organization, whose headquarters are still in Ethiopia, made a historic choice. For the first time, African leaders elected former South Africa's minister of home affairs, H.E. Dr. Nkosazana Clarice Dlamini-Zuma, the first woman to lead the African Union Commission.

The African Union is half of a century on 2013
The African Union (AU) was conceived by the later Libyan leader Muammar Gaddafi as a 'United States of Africa,' BBC Africa stated. Morocco is the only African country that does not hold a membership with the African Union.

The AU was originally called the Organization of the African Unity (OUA). The OUA was established and based on 25 May 1963 in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia by representatives of 32 governments. 

Ethiopia is one of just two African countries never to have been colonized, BBC Africa said. On 9 July 2002, the last OAU chairperson, South African President Thabo Mbeki disbanded the organization to replace it by the current African Union (AU).

The commission serves as the administrative branch of the African Union made up of 54 African states, the New York Times stated. Dr.Dlamini-Zuma, the first female head of the AU commission, is also a diplomat, medical doctor, a politician and former wife of Deputy President Jacob Zuma. In her acceptance speech,  she thanked her supporters. 

My election is not a personal victory but a victory for the African continent in general and for women in particular [...]. We are grateful as women that our leaders have understood that women have to participate and take their rightful place in society so they can reach their full potential because it is only if men and women reach their full potential, shall we as a continent reach our full potential.
She defeated the incumbent, Jean Ping of Gabon. Her victory is a source of pride and inspiration for women across Africa. The AU commission, the key organ that plays a central role in the day-to-day management of the AU, is made up of a Chairperson, a deputy Chairperson, 8 Commissioners and staff members.

The AU chairperson Dr.Dlamini-Zuma greets former U.S. Secretary of State Hillary Clinton

The South African History Online's website published a complete biography of Dr. Dlamini-Zuma. Born on 27 January 1949, she has completed her secondary education at Amanzimtoti Training College until 1967 and started her tertiary studies in 1971 at the University of Zululand. She obtained a Bachelor's Degree in Science (BSc) and left the country five years later to complete her MB ChB  at the University of Bristol in 1978.

Her strong political engagement placed her as one of the few ANC women that has held senior positions in government and in Cabinet of South Africa. ANC or the African National Congress is the national liberation movement in South Africa whose key objective is the creation of a united, non-racial, non-sexist and democratic society. The African Union certainly made history by selecting this anti-apartheid activist.

(Photo via)

Popular posts from this blog

March 8 is a special day for millenniums too

Over 100 years later, one may ask whether the celebration of the International Women's Day is still relevant today? The responses you will read below are those of four millenniums and W&A supporters. They have agreed to share their opinions with you and to explain what this special day means to them.
"The celebration of the International Women's Day is still relevant because women are still struggling to reach the gender equality. As a young African women, I can say with confidence that male dominance is still obvious in our societies. Understanding the reason behind March 8th is important for women.

Two American graduate students raise funds for South African students with The Project Ubuntu

Inspired by their recent summer study abroad program in South Africa, Elizabeth Patterson and Amber Lodman made the decision to create The Ubuntu Project upon their return to their home country, the United States of America.  The Project Ubuntu is a grassroots fundraising effort to help students of the Bachana Mockwena and Reinotswe special schools in South Africa.  Elizabeth Patterson and Amber Lodman, the two founders of the Project Ubuntu, started the fundraiser with the aim of providing funds for infrastructure building as well as dinning halls for meals. This summer of 2013, they both went to South Africa to study education and social reform.

Five powerful African women

Forbes has just released the official list of the world's 100 most powerful women of 2013. I am not sure which criteria Forbes experts used. Based on the list, they have probably included criteria such financial or diplomatic influence. However, I was disappointed to notice the insignificant representation of African women on the list. This may be partly explained by the background of those in charge of the selection.

Your opinion matters/ Votre opinion compte

What do you think of my articles? Do you have any ideas? If yes, please write a comment or contact me!

Que pensez-vous de mes articles? Avez-vous des idées? Si oui, laissez un commentaire ou contactez-moi!

Total Pageviews